From Moscow To Dean Court

Last updated : 02 July 2011 By Bournemouth Co-Ordinator

With prize money worth £150,000 to the winners of the EC Group Cup, the participants have been announced as AFC Bournemouth, Locomotiv Moscow, the Glenn Hoddle Academy and FC Saarbrucken (a German side from the 3rd tier of their league).

Chairman Eddie Mitchell is quoted as saying about the tournament in the Bournemouth Evening Echo: "It is a fantastic achievement for the club to be able to draw one of the top clubs from Russia. It is a statement of where we are trying to go. It will be a great event. We need the support so we can make it an annual event and bring in bigger teams each season. It is a great coup for a club of our size to have a sponsor which is prepared to put in around £250,000. The company must believe in what we are doing. It is a great opportunity for our supporters to watch some good, competitive football early in the season".