Dec 10 LDV Vans Trophy AFC Bournemouth 2-1 (aet) Cardiff City Att: 3615

Last updated : 14 December 2002 By Andy Burton
With the final stages of the LDV Vans Trophy nearing, it was nice to see Bournemouth taking the match seriously fielding a full strength side against a formidable Cardiff side, albeit missing danger man Robert Earnshaw, but still starting with Thorne.

As we froze in the stands, the match started fairly brightly, but the first half was typified with very few chances being created by either side as it seemed that neither set of players wanted to conceed an advantage to the opposition. To summarise:
Jamie Hayter was denied by the keepers feet (6 mins).
Danny Thomas shot direct to the Cardiff keeper when it might have been better to direct it wide of where the keeper was standing (18 mins).
Cardiff City put the ball wide of the post (32 mins).
Neil Moss denies Leo Fortune-West by palming the ball over the bar (34 mins).
Goal denied through an off side decision (43 mins).

Proceedings didn't pick up until the latter stages of the second half following the introduction of Warren Feeney for Steve Fletcher. The additional injection of pace had an immediate effect as Bournemouth took the lead a minute after Feeney joined the game. Wade Elliott was able to take full advantage when slotting the ball home (79 mins). But the lead didn't last too long as Cardiff equalised almost immediately (80 mins).

With the match going in to golden goal extra time (something we didn't need), the opening 15 minutes went by without too much incident, but the second period livened up with both sides trying to prevent penalties. On 113 minutes the ball struck the Cardiff upright, amazingly the ball stayed out of the goal, and following a game of pin-ball in the area, the ball was cleared. Then a minute later the ball struck the Cardiff post again. This time Jamie Hayter was able to react with no pressure to slot the ball home under no pressure - the golden goal had arrived to see Bournemouth through to the Southern Area Semi-Final.

Gareth O'Connor

AFCB: Moss, Purches, C Fletcher, Broadhurst, Narada, Elliott, O'Connor, Browning, Thomas, S Fletcher, Hayter
Subs: Tardiff, Tindall (on for Narada on 73), Holmes, Feeney (for S Fletcher on 78), Foyewa
Andy Burton, Portsmouth